Australian High Commission
Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar, Comoros, Reunion Island (consular)

Malagasy and Mauritian professionals awarded prestigious Australian Government Scholarships - Australia Awards 2020 Masters Intake

Nine professionals from Madagascar and Mauritius have been awarded prestigious Masters scholarships to undertake studies in Australian universities in 2020 under the Australian Government’s flagship programme Australia Awards – Africa

The successful scholars include (for Mauritius): Mr Joseph Chang Siow (Rodrigues Regional Assembly), Mr Shiva Mauree (Ministry of Health), Ms Shaneeza Fugurally (Ministry of  Education  and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research), Ms Emilline Law Kwang (Ministry of Civil Service & Administrative Reforms) and Ms Parbatee Seewoogalam (Mahatma Gandhi Institute). For Madagascar the scholars are Ms Julie Rasoavelo (Ministry of Foreign Affairs), Mr Alpha Mikaly (Ministry of Strategic Resources), Ms Sophie Rahajarivelo (National Office of Mines and Strategic Industries) and Mr Nirina Raherinjatovo (Ambatovy S.A).

The scholars are attending a two-day pre-departure briefing in Port Louis this week to prepare for their studies and immersion in Australia.

Australian High Commissioner to Mauritius and Ambassador to Madagascar Ms Jenny Dee also announced Ms Julie Rasoavelo (Madagascar) as the winner of the 2020 Sandra Vegting Leadership Prize awarded annually to the most outstanding female Masters scholarship recipient from Madagascar and Mauritius.

Ms Rasoavelo will study a Masters of Sustainable Development at Murdoch University in Perth, Western Australia.

Ms Dee congratulated all the scholars for their successful selection in this competitive Awards program and highlighted Australia’s commitment to gender equality and women in leadership across all sectors of society – government, business and the community sector.

“The Australian Government is committed to building human capacity in priority sectors in Africa.  We look forward to your ongoing leadership and the contribution each of you will make to your nations to support the sustainable socio-economic development of the region as part of our global Australian alumni community,” Ms Dee said.

Australia has a global reputation for excellence in education, science and research and a tradition of innovation and breakthroughs in new technologies.  The scholars will study in Universities across Australia (from Western Australia, Victoria, Queensland and the Northern Territory) on subjects as diverse as Environmental Management, Public Policy, Education Studies, Mineral Resource Management, Science and Geology, Human Resource Management and Clinical Physiotherapy.

Australia Awards is the flagship development assistance program in Africa of the Australian Government providing postgraduate training opportunities for African professionals. The application process is open and merit-based, providing equal opportunities regardless of gender, ethnicity or disability. The Australian Government strongly encourages applications from women and persons living with a disability. Mechanisms are in place to support the participation of applicants requiring assistance.

Applications are currently open for Australia Awards Masters Scholarships and Short Courses with applications due on 6 December 2019 and 17 January 2020 respectively and open to public, private and NGO sector candidates. The priority sectors of study include public policy, agri-business, and extractives, with short course applications in 2020 being sought for: Trade Policy and Negotiations, Public-Private Infrastructure Partnerships and Vocational Education Trainer Development.

Some four Mauritian and five Malagasy Awardees were successful in securing Australia Awards Short Course scholarhsips in 2019.

More information including the eligibility criteria and application details are available at


6 November 2019