Australian High Commission
Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar, Comoros, Reunion Island (consular)

Welcome to the Australian High Commission in Mauritius. We are also accredited to Seychelles, Comoros and Madagascar and have consular accreditation to Reunion Island.

Australia has strong and longstanding relations with our fellow island nations in the south west Indian Ocean. We share an interest in a peaceful, prosperous and open region. We cooperate in trade and investment, tourism, culture, the blue economy, climate change resilience amongst many other fields. 

Australia is committed to working with the countries in this region as a friend and partner, including through the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) and the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA). 

Australians in this region are encouraged to subscribe to travel advice updates through

If you would like to see more about what we are up to, check out our Facebook and Twitter feed.


Voting in the 2023 Referendum 

On 14 October 2023, Australians will be asked to vote in a referendum to alter the Constitution.

The Australian High Commission in Port Louis will be an in-person voting centre and postal vote collection centre. Find out more here

Consular Assistance

We provide consular advice and services to Australians in Mauritius, Madagascar, Seychelles, Comoros and Reunion Island.

Emergency Assistance

The Australian Government provides 24-hour a day emergency consular assistance.

If you are an Australian citizen requiring urgent consular assistance call the Chancery on +230 202 0160 between 08:30 and 15:30.

Alternatively, call the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade's 24-hour Consular Operations Centre directly on:

  • +61 2 6261 3305 from overseas
  • 1300 555 135 from within Australia
  • +61 421 269 080 for SMS

Travel Advice

Get travel advice from Smartraveller and follow our social media platforms for regular updates – Twitter and Facebook.

Study in Australia
Business Envoy. Insights into the Australian Government\'s trade and investment agenda