Australian High Commission
Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar, Comoros, Reunion Island (consular)

Australia supports the creation of a National Chapter of the Organisation of Women in Science for the Developing World in Mauritius


The President of the Republic of Mauritius, HE Dr Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, officially launched the Mauritian Chapter of the Organisation of Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) during the closing reception of the Australia Mauritius Research and Innovation Forum in Ebene on Monday 19 February 2018. 


OWSD is an international non-governmental organisation committed to promoting women’s access to science and technology, and increasing their participation in decision-making processes for the development of their countries and in the international scientific community.


The National Chapter will be hosted by the Food and Agricultural Research Extension Institute (FAREI) with Dr Devika Saddul, research scientist of FAREI’s Livestock Research Department, as the inaugural President of the Executive Committee.


The Chapter will enable its members to access research training, career development and networking opportunities that OWSD offers to women scientists throughout the developing world at different stages of their career.


“The Australian High Commission is honoured to have President Gurib-Fakim, herself a reknowned scientist and member of the OWSD, launch the Mauritian chapter and we encourage other individuals and organisations to support the network and its activities to promote women leadership in science,” Australia’s High Commissioner to Mauritius, Ms Jenny Dee said.


“We congratulate Dr Saddul, an Australian alumni, the newly elected Executive Committee, and all Mauritian OWSD members for the initiative they have shown in creating the network here,” she said.


The Australian High Commission continues to support initiatives that advance gender equality, women’s economic empowerment, and promote women leadership, including in STEM (science, technology, engineering and medicine). 


Women in science who are interested in becoming members of the National Chapter can contact [email protected] 


19 February 2018