Australian High Commission
Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar, Comoros, Reunion Island (consular)

Mauritian Minister of Education announces joint Phd scholarships with two Australian Universities



The Australian High Commissioner, HE Ms Jenny Dee, has welcomed the announcement made by the Mauritian Minister of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research, the Hon. Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun yesterday of joint Phd scholarships for Mauritians with Australia’s Murdoch University and Edith Cowan University.


“It is an exciting moment as we embark on a new era in research partnerships between Australia and Mauritius”, said Australia’s High Commissioner to Mauritius, HE Ms Jenny Dee.


The announcements follow recent visits by the Mauritian Ministry of Education and Tertiary Education Commission to Australia and the signing of a number of new Memorandum of Understandings (MOUs) between Australian education institutions and Mauritian partners.


With over 2,000 Mauritian students in Australia each year along with established partnerships with Mauritian education institutions offering Australian degree qualifications, cooperation in the education sector has been a key element of bilateral relations.


“These latest partnerships will also support Mauritius’ vision of becoming an education hub for the region with a stronger focus on academic and applied research.”


The latest scholarship announcement coincided with the Tertiary Education Commission’s launch of its new research schemes.


29 September 2017